Who I am and why I farm

FRIDAY, MARCH 25, 2011

Just a short post tonight, it’s been a long day and I am wiped, but I would like to share a little bit about myself since I haven’t really done that yet.  I grew up on a farm in Henry County Illinois, graduuated from the University of Illinois in 1992 with a degree in Ag Econ (Loved agronomy, but hated chemistry, thus the Econ degree).  I had always planned on returning to the farm, and that is what I did as soon as I graduated. I became the fifth generation to farm in my family. I was married 1 month after graduation to my soulmate. My wife is a preschool teacher in my hometown and her father was a small farmer who at one time owned his own John Deere dealership in Wyoming Il, so she knows agriculture and has put up with the long hours and missed activities for almost 19 years now.

We have 2 beautiful daughters, 1 15 y/o who is athletically inclined and learning to drive, (scary), and 1 10 y/o who certainly is a free spirit and loves Irish dance.  Both of my daughters probably will not pursue careers in ag, but both have a very strong understanding of what I do and are willing to be involved in their own ways.  The oldest likes ag class and FFA, the youngest still likes to come and ride in the semi when I deliver grain somewhere.

I used to think that no one really cared about what it is that I do or who I am outside of my local circle, but maybe that was because I used to think that way.  However, I find myself looking forward to seeing what the people that I follow on Twitter are doing day in day out, and look forward to reading the blogs that many of them write, because I do care what they are doing, and that is what makes the world go round.  If we didn’t care, no problems would be solved, no one would care if someone was down on their luck and needed some help, and on and on.

I didn’t choose to be a farmer because it was a glamorous occupation, or because the hours are easy, because that certainly isn’t the case.  Maybe I never knew for sure why I did choose to farm, but as I have gotten older and (hopefully) wiser, I have come to realize that a big part of it is because I do care, as I know many of you do too!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

