Salute to Ag Teachers

THURSDAY, MARCH 24, 2011

When I was 3 my grandpa purchased some additional land and provided an opportunity for my dad to return to the farm.  Needless to say, farming has been a big part of my life since then.  However, when I was in high school, I did not take any ag classes or belong to FFA because our ag teacher/FFA advisor was someone of questionable character with whom I did not see eye to eye.  As I have gotten older, I have to admit I do regret not being part of FFA.

This year, my oldest daughter became a freshman in high school and to my delight is taking ag classes has joined FFA, even though she has no intentions at this time of pursuing a career in agriculture.  When I asked her why she chose to do this, her reply was that she had heard a lot of good things about the teacher and wanted to take her class.  This underscores to me the importance of good ag teachers in our schools, because as our farming population continues to decline and our kids become increasingly out of touch with farming, it is the ag teachers who are the ones to expose kids to agriculture.

So, thank you to those who teach ag to our children and happy National Teach Ag day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment